Red Wine Sangria

In an effort to will summer to appear quicker, I am organizing all of my summer recipes.  Last year I brought this to our family’s Father’s Day celebration, which included my parents, brother, both sets of grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins and significant others.  All in all, there were well over fifty people that showed up at my parents house for a lovely afternoon playing games, eating and drinking.  This cocktail was a hit! I can’t wait to make it again this summer. (And I have plenty of peach schnapps left since this recipe is the only thing I use it in!)

Unknown

Red Wine Sangria

1 bottle of red, fruity wine (I find that the inexpensive varieties work well for sangria)

2 cups of vodka (more/less to taste or for potency)

1 cup of peach schnapps

2 cups of orange juice

2 oranges, sliced

2 limes, sliced

2 lemons, sliced

3 cups of grapes

Any other fruit you would like to include (peaches & apples work well)

Combine all of the ingredients in a large pitcher, mashing some of the fruit to release juices. Feel free to adjust the amounts of ingredients to suit your tastes. The key is to have a cocktail you enjoy! If you love raspberries, throw them in.  If you don’t want a drink that is as strong, cut out the vodka. Experiment to find your perfect combination/recipe.

Let sit for 8 to 36 hours.  The longer it sits, the fruitier the sangria will be and the more alcoholic the fruit pieces will become. Serve over ice.

5 thoughts on “Red Wine Sangria

  1. This may sound silly, but I like to use room temperature fruit. I my mind this allows the pores of the fruit to be open and the tastiness can soak in. Then after combining all of my ingredients, I allow the sangria to marinate in the ‘fridge for a day (at least).

    Excited to try this recipe. Have never included Schnapps! Sounds delish.

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Lemonade Wine Spritzer | Savor

  3. Pingback: Sunset Ridge Winery, Dubuque, Iowa | Savor

  4. Pingback: Kirsch Wine Spritzer | Savor

Leave a Reply

