Strawberry Lemonade Wine Spritzer

There are a few types of wine that I can only handle as a spritzer.  Cranberry wine, for example.  I do not like the flavor of cranberries, but when I mix a cranberry wine with a can of Sprite it is effervescent enough to become a refreshing summer drink.

Although wine spritzers conjure up thoughts of the 80s or 90s, I have found some interesting recipes that utilize fresh fruits and herbs and would be perfect for summer (once we actually start enjoying some summer weather!)

I found this particular recipe on the website Iowa Girl Eats, which had me at the title because I myself am an Iowa girl that loves eating!

Strawberry Lemonade Wine Spritzer

1oz (2 Tablespoons) Strawberry Simple Syrup

1 1/2oz (3 Tablespoons) fresh lemon juice (about 1 lemon)

4oz (1/2 cup) Moscato Wine

4oz (1/2 cup) club soda ice strawberry slices, optional

Stir strawberry simple syrup and lemon juice together in a wine glass. Pour in wine, then club soda. Add ice and strawberry slices, if using, then stir.  Serves one.

Even though this recipe only serves one, spritzers are also easy to make in large quantities, so it would be great to have on hand when you are expecting guests, like a sangria.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Lemonade Wine Spritzer

  1. Cranberry wine? I didn’t know there WAS such a thing. Of course, there were lots of fruit wines at the wine festival I attended last weekend. But to keep my poor taste buds from becoming completely confused, I stuck to just the wines made from grapes. lol

    • I have only had cranberry wine from local wineries, but people who enjoy cranberries seem to love it. I can only really drink it under a few conditions: a) it is mixed with Sprite as a spritzer, as mentioned and b) it is around Thanksgiving. But that’s just me : )

  2. Pingback: Lemongrass & Blood Oragne Wine Spritzer | Savor

Leave a Reply

