312 Urban Wheat Ale

One of my goals is to try a new wine, beer or spirit each week.  Although I have seen 312 on tap often, I have never tried it.  As I sat in a local pub, reading and studying for my introductory sommelier course, I thought this was the perfect opportunity to give it a try.

This beer is produced by Goose Island and the name 312 comes from the area code of the Loop in Chicago.

312

Basic Info (via 312 website)

Brewer’s Notes: Inspired by the city of Chicago and densely populated with flavor, 312’s spicy aroma of Cascade hops is followed by a crisp, fruity ale flavor delivered in a smooth, creamy body that’s immensely refreshing.

Style: Urban Wheat

ABV: 4.2%

International Bitterness Units: 18

Color: Hazy Straw

Hops: First Gold, Liberty, Cascade

Malts: 2 Row, Torrified Wheat

Preferred Glass: Tall Glass

Food Pairings: Salads, Fish

Cheese Pairings: Fresh Chevre, Buffalo Mozzarella

Cellaring Notes:  Enjoy within 180 days

My Notes:

I drank a draft pint of 312 at a local pub.  A fresh keg was put in immediately after I ordered, as the tap was running out. The beer was light golden in color, with minimal foam after the pour.  There were small, fast bubbles rising to the top of the pint glass immediately after the pour.

The first drink was light, effervescent and refreshing, with mild citrus and pine flavors. The aroma was also filled with citrus and pine notes. I loved this beer while it was ice cold! As it becomes room temperature, the mouthfeel became bitter and astringent.

I will definitely be enjoying this brew in the summer.  Because of the lemon/citrus flavor, I think that it would be best consumed sitting on the deck on a summer evening after work, watching the sunset or grilling out.  Perfect for light drinking.

Leave a Reply

