Vina Borgia Garnacha

Vina Borgia

Garnacha

2010

(Campos de Borgia, Spain)

 

On Bottle/Website:

* 100% unoaked with notes of big, ripe fruits

* Warm spices enveloped in blueberry and blackberry

* Great value, under $10

* 87 points Wine Enthusiast

My Notes:

Appearance: Clear, bright, purple, medium concentration, rim variation, medium viscosity

Nose: Clean, medium intensity, young, dried dark berries

Palate: Dry, light bodied, fruit confirms nose, medium plus alcohol, medium acidity, medium tannin, short finish, low complexity

I drank this wine with an amazing Osso Buco at a local restaurant.  I find the garnacha wines to have a bit of harshness to them and I wouldn’t be able to drink it without food, but as I tasted a sample of it before deciding what to order, I thought that it would pair well with the pork.  The softness of the Merlot I tried would be dominated by the flavors of the meal and I wanted something to stand up to this delicious dish.

 

Leave a Reply

