Schlafly Summer Lager

Schlafly, a brewery based out of St. Louis, captured my heart many years ago.  A very close friend of mine from college is from St. Louis and I have visited her and her family in St. Louis many times.  Her brother is a brew master at Schlafly’s and we have visited Schlafly Bottleworks when they lived in Maplewood.  One time I was even sent home with a case full of mislabeled bottles.  Half the fun was trying to guess what kind of brew we would get when we opened each bottle!  I have not met one of their brews that I do not instantly love.

A few years ago, I was thrilled when I noticed a local restaurant carrying Schlafly’s Pumpkin Ale.  I love a good pumpkin ale, but a good quality pumpkin brew can be hard to find.  At that point, no where else in the area carried any sort of Schlafly beer, so I would make special trips to this particular restaurant on a regular basis to get my fix.  Thankfully, local grocery stores have started carrying Schlafly beer!  I often buy the variety pack case so that I can sample different types of brews.  I recently found the Summer Lager, which I have never tried.

Basic Info (via bottle and website)

* Bright, golden beer perfect for summertime

* The malts used impart a wonderful, fresh grain character, reminiscient of European lagers

* The German hop, Mittelfruh, lends a mild lemony, spicy flavor

* Available seasonally (April through August)

* ABV: 4.5%

* IBU: 17

* Appearance: Straw colored, bright

* Process: German-style Helles

* Hops: Mittelfrüh, Magnum (DE)

* Grains: Pale, Europils, Carapils ®

* Yeast: German lager

My Notes

This is certainly a nice, light, easy-drinking beer.  Perfect for sitting out back near the fire pit and enjoying some good company.  The lemony and spicy components are not overpowering, but add a subtle summer feel to the beer.  It would pair well with a grilled chicken sandwich topped with a slice of grilled pineapple.

Leave a Reply

