Altovinum Evodia Garnacha

Altovinum Evodia

Garnacha

2011

(Atea, Spain)

On Bottle/Website:

* A custom cuvee for Eric Solomon

* 100% garnacha

* Vineyards planted up to 100 years ago

* High altitude vineyards in the mountainous village of Atea

* Planted on pure slate soils

* 15% alcohol

* www.europeancellars.com

My Notes:

Appearance: Clear, bright, purple, medium concentration, rim variation, medium viscosity

Nose: Clean, weak intensity, young, fresh cherry and red berries

Palate: Dry, light bodies, fruit confirms nose, medium plus alcohol, medium acidity, medium tannin, short finish, low complexity

This wine reminded me a lot of the Manyana Tempranillo I tasted a month ago.  There was not much intensity on either the nose or palate.  Both wines originate in Spain and I am starting to see how to identify wines based on their terroir while tasting wine.  This wine grew on me more as I continued to drink it through the night.  I have no idea whether that can be attributed to the fact that it opened up more or the fact that my faculties were diminished.  Even though this wine seems to be well received by others, I do not foresee purchasing it again.

Leave a Reply

