Salmon Run Riesling

Salmon Run

Riesling

2011

(Finger Lakes)

images-2

On Bottle/Website:

* 12% Alcohol

* Konstantin D. Frank

* Accompany with fish and fowl

* http://www.drfrankwines.com

My Notes:

Appearance: clear, day bright, straw, low concentration, no rim variation, medium viscocity

Nose: clean, medium plus intensity, youthful, citrus, lemon, grapefruit, lime, grass, asparagus, white flowers, slate

Palate: Off dry, light bodied, confirms nose, citrusy without a lot of acidity, medium alcohol, medium minus acidity, medium minus finish, medium complexity

I have read a fair amount about Dr. Frank and was curious about his wines from the Finger Lakes.  He is credited with changing the landscape of New York vineyards and wineries from mediocre to a level that is highly regarded today. Dr. Frank was a professor of plant science and held a Ph.D. in viticulture.  He believed that proper rootstock, not the cold climate was the reason for the failure of vinifera grape varieties in the area.  The vines he established are the backbone for his well-renowned wines.

The first time I purchased this bottle, I drank it while visiting with my cousin in one sitting and didn’t take notes.  I knew that I enjoyed the wine immensely because the bottle was finished and she had been drinking cider beer.

I recently purchased it again and took notes this time.  To me it possessed a great balance of being crisp and refreshing with a hint of sweetness.  I think it would pair well with a lot of dishes, but I tried it with some fresh, homemade mango salsa and I didn’t think that they paired well.  I drank the wine alone and then switched to a Sauvignon Blanc to drink with the chips and salsa.

When I first heard someone speak of Riesling as their favorite wine, partially because itcould be paired with anything, I didn’t understand the concept because I thought of Riesling in terms of cloyingly sweet types of wine.  As my knowledge is being opened to  the drier types of Riesling, I am excited to taste more options and see what it has to offer!  With these types of Riesling, I can see myself becoming an avid fan!

Leave a Reply

