Pomelo Sauvignon Blanc

Pomelo

Sauvignon Blanc

2011

(Oakville, California)

images-1

On Bottle/Website:

* 13% Alcohol

* Definition of Pomelo: giant citrus fruit native to Malaysia and thought to be an ancestor to the grapefruit

* Reminiscent of coral pink tangy juice from a pomelo

My Notes:

Appearance: clear, bright, light straw, low concentration, no rim variation, medium viscosity

Nose: clean, medium intensity, young, pineapple, peach, lemon, grapefruit, white flowers

Palate: dry, medium body, lemon and grapefruit prevalent flavors, medium alcohol, medium acidity, medium plus finish, medium plus complexity

I had read about this wine being a great California Sauvignon Blanc value, so I picked up a bottle.  One of the first nights the weather started being nice enough to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine after work, I opened this bottle up to try.  My friend had made mango salsa that we were savoring and then topping our fish tacos with later.

I loved how the flavors of this wine danced with the acidity and flavors of the salsa.  My friend, on the other hand, did not care for the pairing.  The flavor of the wine turned lime-centric and sour while drinking with the salsa and fish tacos.  To me, it almost made it taste similar to a margarita.  The sourness also reminded me of a crisp green apple.  A few sips after we were finished eating, the wine seemed to mellow again since it did not have the flavors of the food to accompany it. I rather enjoyed the drastic change in flavor, as I found it both interesting and delicious.

3 thoughts on “Pomelo Sauvignon Blanc

  1. Pingback: Mango Salsa | Savor

Leave a Reply

