Hard Cider Sangria

I have been on a bit of an apple kick recently, which is strange because I typically go through this phase in the Fall.  A few weekends ago, I stopped at my aunt’s and tried a Shocktop Honeycrisp Apple Wheat Beer she had on hand.  (I’m not even sure how they fit that whole title on the label!)  It was actually quite refreshing and had more of a wheat flavor than most hard ciders I have tasted. I don’t tend to care much for hard cider, but the prevalence of the wheat flavor made this beer tolerable.  I wouldn’t be able to drink more than a few of them, though.

My cousin always tries to get me to sample different hard ciders because she loves them so much, so when I saw this recipe for a Hard Cider Sangria, I immediately thought of her and knew that we would have to try it out the next time I visit her and we are sitting on the back porch grilling out.

Unknown

Hard Cider Sangri

1 apple, thinly sliced (with peel)

1 orange, thinly sliced (with peel)

1 cup apple juice, chilled

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1/4 cup of brandy

22 ounces of hard apple cider

In a pitcher, combine all of the ingredients.  Wait to add the hard apple cider until just before serving.  Serve over ice in a tall glass.

Leave a Reply

