Shrimp Scampi

Along with my education in wine, I am also attempting to learn more about cooking.  It’s not that I have never cooked or baked before, it’s simply that I stick to the same types of foods and dishes I grew up with as a child.  Although I find these dishes delicious and they are accompanied by wonderful memories, I am starting to realize that there is a lot more to offer in the culinary world.  Case in point, I made my first dish with fresh shrimp recently.

Before cooking with fresh shrimp myself, the only shrimp that I had cooked with was frozen, pre-cooked shrimp.  Admittedly, the pre-cooked shrimp was super convenient and easy to prepare but it definitely doesn’t live up to fresh shrimp! I don’t even think I realized that fresh shrimp would taste like this at home.  I just assumed that to enjoy delicious shrimp, I had to order it at a nice restaurant.

As tedious and gross as I assumed the process would be, shelling and deveining shrimp is not bad at all and didn’t end up taking that long.  Now that I am more comfortable with the whole process, I am ready to try more shrimp recipes in my daily cooking.  With that in mind, I always love a good recipe that includes wine.

images

Shrimp Scampi

1 pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined

1 tablespoon pure olive oil

2 tablespoons garlic, finely chopped

1 1/2 cups white wine

1/2 fresh lemon, juice only

1 teaspoon Italian seasonings

1/2 cup softened butter

1 tablespoon parsley

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

* Heat skillet and add olive oil

* Add shrimp and cook until tender and no longer translucent, reduce heat.  Remove shrimp and set aside.

* Add garlic and cook 2-3 minutes.  Do not allow garlic to brown- it will make it bitter.

* Add white wine and lemon juice.

* Cook until wine is reduced by half.  After it is reduced, add Italian seasoning.

* Reduce heat to low and add butter.  If the pan is too hot, the butter will separate.

* Add shrimp back into sauce.  Add parsley and season to taste with salt and pepper.

* Sprinkle with grated Parmesan Cheese.

2 thoughts on “Shrimp Scampi

    • Absolutely! I post the recipes and my tasting notes just as much for myself so that I have somewhere to go back and find it when I need it. Sadly, if I simply wrote this recipe down and tried to save it, I would probably lose it by the next time I wanted to use it.

Leave a Reply

