Scharzhof Riesling

Scharzhof

Riesling

2011

(Mosel, Germany)

Scharzhof Riesling 11 LAB

On Bottle/Website:

* Lime, acid, distinctive petrol note

* Egon Muller Scharzhof

My Notes:

Appearance: clear, day bright, straw, green rim variation, medium minus viscosity

Nose: sound/clean, medium plus intensity, aroma/youthful, pear, green apple, lime, apricot, peach, pencil eraser, dusty, chalky

Palate: off-dry, medium bodied, confirms nose, medium alcohol, medium plus acidity, medium plus complexity, medium plus length

10 thoughts on “Scharzhof Riesling

    • I didn’t get the distinctive petrol note myself, but maybe that explains the pencil eraser I got on the nose. I sampled this wine during a blind tasting, so I didn’t know ahead of time that the petrol note was part of the description.

  1. I was also surprised by the petrol, which I would expect in aged Rieslings, but not in such a young Riesling from a very ripe vintage,.It can be hard to try Mueller’s wines, you know that he is in his own rank in Germany, unparalleled. I’ve never tried one of his wines…did you enjoy it?

    • I was unaware of Mueller’s reputation. That’s why I love these conversations! Thanks for sharing that information. I will have to do some research on Mueller’s wines and find out more. (And then, of course, try some more!)

      This was a wine I tasted during an Intro to Sommelier course, so I was introduced to a lot of fabulous wines as we practiced blind deductive tasting. The unfortunate part of that is that I had just enough time to take my basic notes following the guidelines they taught us about blind tasting, but not enough time to write down all of my own thoughts about each wine before moving onto the next one. I do recall that there was a fair amount of earthiness and minerality in the nose.

      I also remember that it was unlike any other Riesling I had every tried and it made me want to explore Rieslings more. Before that point I had always thought of Rieslings as too sweet for me, but I have come to realize that there is a broad spectrum of sweetness levels in Rieslings. I have since found a fabulous Riesling from Dr. Frank in the Finger Lakes that I love!

      • Yes, Mueller really plays in his own league. His wines are spectacularly expensive (a Spaetlese usually starts at around 60 euros – $90 in Germany, the Kabinetts more at 40 euros) and they are hard to come by.

        The remark you made about minerality is very true for the Saar valley, where Mueller’s wines are grown. It is one of my favorite regions in the Mosel denomination, and the Scharzhofberg is probably my favorite German vineyard. Germans (not me) tend to drink much more dry Rieslings than sweet, so there is a sizeable production of dry Rieslings, but they hardly ever make it to the US…

      • It’s too bad more of those dry Rieslings never make it to the U.S. I am beginning to understand the love of Riesling! Thank you so much for enlightening me on this particular vineyard! Another place to add to my growing list of travel destinations, that I will probably never be able to actually visit. But a girl can dream, right?!?

      • A girl and a guy should always dream! German wine country is just fabulous. And most winemakers are a blast to be around. I hope you’ll get the chance. The Mosel valley is just 2-3 hours from Champagne and 5 hours from Burgundy, so one can really do it if one wants.

      • It definitely sounds like you can get a lot of bang for your buck traveling in that area! You are a fountain of knowledge! Thanks for continuously teaching me through your comments!

Leave a Reply

