Marchesi di Barolo Barolo

Marchesi di Barolo

Barolo

2006

(Piedmont, Italy)

Unknown-1

On Bottle/Website:

* Garnet red with ruby shades

* Intense nose with clean scents of spices, vanilla, roasted hazelnuts, liquorices, cacao and wild rose

* Full, elegant flavor, austere and good-bodied, with recurring olfactory sensations

* Hints of spices and of wood blend perfectly

My Notes:

Appearance: clear, bright, medium high intensity, garnet, goes to brown on rim, high viscosity

Nose: sound/clean, medium minus intensity, dried fruits, black cherry, cranberry, pomegranate, anise, tar, asphalt, cedar dust, dried flowers

Palate: dry, medium/full body, confirms nose, soil, high tannins, medium plus alcohol, medium plus acidity, high complexity, long finish

4 thoughts on “Marchesi di Barolo Barolo

  1. I love Barolo. It’s sometimes hard to get at without age or lots of air. But, it’s power without heaviness is what I appreciate. Plus I’ve had this product but a different vintage.

    Did you like it?

    • I loved it! This was a wine I tried in a blind tasting during a wine course, so I didn’t get to enjoy a whole glass or take my time writing down as much information as I would have liked about the wine. It is certainly one I have on my list to purchase a bottle of to enjoy with a meal in the future.

  2. I was very lucky that on Saturday my wife and I drank a bottle of 1963 Barolo (she bought this 50 year old wine for me to celebrate my 50th birthday last week!) and it was absolutely spectacular. I now must drink a more recent vintage to compare and contrast so I’ll be on the lookout for this bottle following your review.

    • What a wonderful wife to buy you the 1963 Barolo to celebrate your birthday!! I think this would be a fabulous bottle to use in comparing and contrasting vintages. Let me know what you think after you do your comparison!

Leave a Reply

