Everyday Wines

images

Within the past few months, I have started to subscribe to the concept of everyday wines.  When I drink wine during the week, I drink inexpensive bottles that are still satisfying.  I like to stick to types of wines that I know are some of my favorites and are in the $5- $15 price range. As I am tasting more and more wines, I am finding a lot of great options that fit this category. I used to have two standbys, but now my list of everyday wines has grown exponentially, as can be referenced by all of the wine reviews/tastings I have posted about recently. I have even heard about some people who take this concept to the next level by having lunch wine and dinner wine.

On weekends I like to try new wines that are unfamiliar to me and go above my everyday wine price range.  For a weekend wine, I will spend around $15- $30.  These are the wines that are fun for me to look for at the store!  I can easily spend an hour at my local liquor store combing through the aisles for something intriguing that I have never heard of or looking for something specific that I have read about in a book, magazine or online.

Then there are special occasions! Every so often I will splurge on a nice bottle of wine and I am willing to spend up to $50 or $60.  I would like for this to become a monthly habit at some point in the future, but at this point I just can not justify it financially.  I’m sure if I cut out other expenditures that are frivolous I could make it happen, but that requires some organization and effort to figure out where to pinch the pennies.  And that’s not fun for me.

A fellow blogger, whom I enjoy reading, recently wrote a post about what his solid threshold is on purchasing a bottle of wine.  The Drunken Cyclist started a great conversation about whether or not a $150 bottle of wine is three times better than a $50 bottle of wine.  I commented that my palate is certainly not as refined as many others making comments, but recently at a blind tasting where I did not know the prices of each wine, I couldn’t necessarily differentiate between the expensive and inexpensive wines.  Check out the great conversation here: How Much?

Do you tend to follow an everyday wines philosophy?  What price ranges do you stick with?

5 thoughts on “Everyday Wines

  1. Thanks so much for the kind words! Personally, I do have an “every day wine” mentality to a point. Most of the time, I do not pull out a “big gun” during the week since we are usually running around quite a bit and don’t have the time (or inclination) to think all that much about the wine. Other times we do take a bit of a plunge either because the wine would go particularly well with the meal; one of us had a rough day at work; it might be a day of the week with a “Y” in it.

    • Ha! I love when you are just in the mood to have a great bottle simply because it’s a day that ends in a ‘y’… I completely agree that you don’t always need a reason to splurge. Simply enjoying life is reason enough!

  2. I am totally digging the everyday policy. Having grown up in wine country, wine was a staple. Nothing fancy. I also simply don’t see a point in my life at which an “everyday wine” costs more than $10…let’s be frank, that would still make for an impressive $3,500 bill a year!

    So, yes, I usually pick up a number of bottles and just open them an see whether I like them or not. Great at expanding the palate, albeit sometimes frustrating…

    • Good point on the $3,500 total at the end of the year! Even “everyday wines” can add up pretty quickly! I had never really thought of that point, because for me “everyday wines” generally happen once or twice during a week. I don’t actually have wine every night. (I wish I was able to do that!)

  3. Pingback: Wine & Food Pairing Tip: Wine Categories | Savor

Leave a Reply

