Louis M. Martini Cabernet Sauvignon

Louis M. Martini

Cabernet Sauvignon

2010

(Sonoma County)

Unknown

On bottle:

* Website: http://www.louismartini.com

* Fresh, ripe flavors of black cherry, currant and spice

* Pairs well with beef, lamb, pasta marinara and rich cheeses

My notes:

Nose: spice, currant, blackberries

After 3 hour decant: spice, mellow

After 6 hour decant: currant, cherry

The nose changed considerable after being decanted. The difference in tannin was perceptible even in the nose.  I enjoyed the nose of the 6 hour decant the most.

Taste: heavy tannins, extremely astringent

After 3 hour decant: smoother, but still bitter mouthfeel

After 6 hour decant: smoothes, still a level of astringence

I was not a fan of this particular cabernet sauvignon.  I always thought that I enjoyed cabernet sauvignon, but I do not drink it often because I can rarely find someone who wants to split a bottle with me.  I did this taste test without food, so even though I wrote down in my notes not to purchase this particular wine again, maybe I will give it a shot with a meal.

I have seen this particular vintage and brand in many lists of solid cabernets, so either my tastes are very different than a lot of reputable sources or maybe I don’t like cabernet sauvignons as much as I thought.  More taste testing is needed to determine my final assessment.

Leave a Reply

