Recommended Reading

In an effort to prepare for the Introductory Sommelier Course through The Court of Master Sommeliers, I have many books on my coffee table that I am working my way through.

Unknown-2

Last year, I read Complete Wine Course by Kevin Zraly so I am taking some time to review the chapters.  I read this book with a group and we did tastings from each course along the way.  It was some of the most fun I have had with wine and it was fabulous to get multiple perspectives while tasting.

Perfect Pairings by Evan Goldstein is providing some interesting background knowledge to use when pairing wines with food.  Truth be told, I think I am more excited about diving into his book Daring Pairings, but I feel as if I have to wait to dig into it until after I have built a solid foundation of basic pairing principles and understand the concepts well enough to expand on classical pairing philosophies.

I am using Pairing Food & Wine for Dummies to help build this foundation as well.  I have never purchased a ‘for Dummies’ book, but I guess it was about time.  The slogan at the top of the cover states that they are “Making Everything Easier!”  Here’s hoping.

The Sothby’s Wine Encyclopedia by Tom Stevenson and Grossman’s Guide to Wines, Beers and Spirits by Harold Grossman are both daunting reference books.  I don’t foresee myself reading through more than just the introduction and for the purpose of looking up specific wines, beers or spirits.  They are both a good upper body workout when I pick them up, though.

I also have a stack of old copies of Food & Wine Magazine to peruse for some insight.

Are there any other books you have read that you would recommend to help me prepare for the Introductory Course?

Leave a Reply

