Moscato versus Moscato d’Asti

Unknown

I first discovered Moscato d’Asti when I was in college, having what I then considered a fancy dining experience at Biaggis.  The wine was light, crisp, and effervescent with the perfect touch of sweetness.  Although I have now tried many different brands of Moscato, I have never found any that rivals the original one I tasted, Bricco Riella Moscato d’Asti.

Moscato wines are produced from the muscat/muscadet/moscato bianco grape and are a sweet white wine, often considered a dessert wine.  When it is followed by d’Asti, that indicates that it has been produced in the province of Asti, in northwest Italy.

In my experience, most of the Moscato wines I have tried tend to be too sweet for my palate while the Moscato d’Asti wines seem to strike the right balance of being refreshing and crisp without too much residual sugar.

My favorite, Bricco Riella Moscato d’Asti tends to be reasonably priced, usually ringing in under $20.

Leave a Reply

