Pouring the Perfect Guinness

guinness_three

Until recently, I was under the impression that I did not care for Guinness.  A few friends who had traveled to Ireland had convinced me that it tasted different in its home country, which apparently had something to do with the pasteurization process.  I am not able to confirm or deny that statement based on my limited knowledge of the product, but it provides one more reason I would love to travel to Ireland.

This past weekend, I gave Guinness another chance and tried it again for the sake of the St. Patrick’s Day.  The creamy stout slid smoothly down my throat and I was a newly converted fan.  After having a conversation about my newfound delight with my brother, I was introduced to the concept of the ‘perfect pour’ which reminded me of an episode of Bar Rescue in which the bartenders were sent to Dublin to become Guinness Certified.

The perfectly poured Guinness is arguably a work of art.  At the Guinness Storehouse, Guinness Ambassadors teach people the craft of pouring the perfect pint.  Students of this concept are presented with a certificate.

The following six steps are recommended to pour the perfect Guinness pint (with or without the official certificate):

1: A dry, clean twenty ounce tulip glass should be used, which allows for the best distribution of the nitrogen bubbles.

2: Hold the glass at a forty-five degree angle, not allowing the tap faucet to touch the tulip glass or beer.

3: Fill the glass three-fourths of the way full, allowing the beer to flow nice and smoothly into the angled glass.

4:  Let it settle approximately two minutes.  As the nitrogen bubbles are distributed, they build a wonderful, creamy head on the top.

5:  After allowing it to settle, fill the glass to the top.  By letting it settle, you helped it create a dome effect across the top of the glass.

6: Serve responsibly, with a steady hand and no spilling.

7 thoughts on “Pouring the Perfect Guinness

  1. It’s all in the pour. And you are correct, Guinness does taste totally different in Ireland than it does in the cans/bottles you get in the package store here in the U.S. Anytime you drink one on tap, however, it comes from the Dublin brewery…I only know this because the keg I talked my wife into letting me get says so. 🙂

  2. Thanks for confirming about the cans/bottles versus the Guinness in Ireland or kegs! I must admit that I am jealous of the fact that you have a keg of Guinness… that must be one great wife you have!

    • She rocks. I offered to alternate a keg of my beer, a keg of hers, but she insists on drinking Miller Lite in bottles. I love my wife. 🙂

      It’s not that expensive…the kegerator conversion kit was under $250, the gas is $8 every 2-3 months, and I buy 4 kegs at $150/keg per year. There’s 88 pints in a keg, which, if you have a pint a day (ya’ know, to keep the doctor away), saves you about $800 per year (we pay $8.99 for a 4-pack of pint cans in Dallas).

      I’m almost MAKING money by having a keg. 😉

      • I love the viewpoint that you are almost making money by having a keg. Keeping it pragmatic 🙂 You have almost convinced me to invest in one! I can certainly get onboard with your pint a day to keep the doctor away philosophy as well.

Leave a Reply

