Fresh Homemade Margaritas

Sometimes in the middle of a cold, blustery day, the thought of a lovely, refreshing margarita instantly transforms me south of the border.  This summer I felt it was my obligation to find the perfect homemade margarita recipe.  In the name of science, I performed many experiments to find what I felt was the perfect combination and only recently stumbled upon the magic, secret ingredient.

If you are in need of an instant reminder of summer, mix up some margaritas and grab the chips and salsa!

margarita

Fresh Homemade Margaritas


1 cup tequila (100% agave tequila labeled white, silver or blanco)

6 fresh limes

2 fresh oranges

¼ cup agave nectar

1 can of light beer

Sea salt

Fill a large pitcher up with ice.  Pour in the tequila. Squeeze in the juice of the limes and oranges. Add the agave nectar and can of beer.  Stir briskly until mixed well.  Salt the rim of your margarita glass, pour yourself a generous portion and enjoy!

Personal Preferences:

*I recommend Avion, Hornitos or Patron.  Good tequila makes a world of difference, in my opinion.

*Room temperature citrus is easier to juice, so I recommend taking it out of the fridge an hour ahead of time.

*The measurements do not have to be exact.  Change to match your own personal taste preference.

It is baffling how a can of beer transformed every other variation of the recipe I had tried.  It cut the sourness of the lime perfectly and gave the margarita a bit of refreshing carbonation that balanced the drink well.  I would have never tried it unless heavily persuaded.

8 thoughts on “Fresh Homemade Margaritas

  1. I was very hesitant to even try the beer in my margaritas (I didn’t want to waste good tequila if they didn’t turn out!) Thankfully I trusted my friend’s knowledge and gave it a try and it was fantastic. Let me know if you liked it after you give it a shot!

  2. Pingback: My Go-To Drinks | Savor

  3. Pingback: Coconut Horchata | Savor

  4. Pingback: Spicy Pineapple Margarita | Savor

  5. Pingback: Mango Salsa | Savor

  6. Pingback: Guilt Free Cocktail: Green Grape Frojito | Savor

  7. Pingback: Guilt Free Cocktail: Watermelon Margarita | Savor

Leave a Reply

